It Will Be Okay

             Yesterday I heard the words that nobody wants to hear.

             “Pam,  you have known that you have a traumatic brain injury.  We have tried therapies and medication. Your progress has been good. But, we are at a place where your recovery will not go much farther.  You have to understand that the brains cells have died and they do not come back. You are closer to the old you than you were, but getting all the way back is not possible. “

            In my heart I knew this was coming.  I had researched and gone to everyone I could find to help me. It had taken me over a year to find therapists that understood and could guide me. There I had learned so much about who I am now, in the post accident part of my life.  I was glad that I had the personal strength to look for help myself. In so doing I had healed more than I would have, but also I learned that I had been pushing myself too hard.  I was over stimulating my brain and making things worse.  Driving was one of the ways I was doing so.  I miss driving.

“Pam, I will send a recommendation to your general physician for a sleep apnea test to see if that might be the reason you are so tired in the mornings.  But, I must say that even if that comes back positive it will not help much. Other than that we are done here.”

I sat there not wanting to get up from my seat.  I had no income, could not get cleared to work and now no other ways to get back to the old me.  I wanted to cry but, as usual, held back the tears and got up to leave the room. Walking to the exit the nurse asked if I needed to schedule an appointment and I told her no.  Taking a hard candy from the dish on the counter I unwrapped it, popped it in my mouth, and walked out of the door. The taste of the rich butterscotch jewel enveloped my taste buds as I walked to the elevator and later out the door. I had no place else to go.  No cure.  The old me had died.  The new me was taking over.  My standard self pity party began rising up inside.  I wanted to crawl in the back seat of the awaiting truck and hide.  I did not want to tell my husband that I was no longer going to be able to work and help him with the bills.  Looking up I saw he had fallen asleep reading his book in the front seat of the truck. If it had not been so cold outside I would have gone back in for a bit to let him live in the not yet knowing that he would have to support me the rest of his life. I wanted him to not have to endure that more than anything. I gently knocked on the window and watched him awaken and unlock the door.  In hushed tones we talked as the taste of tears co-mingled with the butterscotch in my mouth.

            “I’m so sorry.  There’s nothing else they can do.” The words stung as they came out. He had worked so hard to put me through college and now this. I ached to the core knowing the financial burden I had placed on him.

            Looking at me with his blue eyes that I love so he spoke. “Life is like that sometimes. We will be okay.” 

            Now the tears let loose. Here in this place of love and safety I broke down.  I grieved the old me and all that we had lost. But I knew in my heart that we would be okay. That life is like that sometimes and we must muddle on through the muck and mire to find the hope that awaits us. There is a light at the end of the path.  I pray we find it soon.

Author: tbi479/survivor

Recently diagnosed with a Traumatic Brain Injury following a roll over I had to leave my career as a Special Education teacher and move into the realm of the unemployed. Having now experienced the topic of a TBI from both sides I am moving into sharing my insights to help others. Teaching the students with a TBI gave me some awareness but not near what I have learned from walking a mile in their shoes. Being unable to teach I have thus committed myself to this blog and to helping how I am able. I hope you glean something from my posts. Love to all.

2 thoughts on “It Will Be Okay”

  1. Hi! I’m at work browsing your blog from my new iphone!

    Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and
    look forward to all your posts! Keep up the outstanding work!

    Like

  2. Never give up hope, Pam! Acceptance in the moment of where you are at is key, but there are always things out there to try. I know most don’t seem to work. I was told the same stuff. But I make improvements all the time. It is just so slow. And you have to find the right people to help you without overdoing it too. Good luck!

    Like

Leave a Reply

