Love Unconditionally

Today is a day filled with most focusing on love. It is Valentine’s Day.  Having been married for 39 years now the traditional aspects of this day have become much more simplified at our house. At first there was an expectation of a gift or token given and received on that very day. If there was no gift I became distraught and upset, feeling unloved.  As the years passed I began to see the love of my spouse through varied eyes.  I began to see that we did not need one day a year to buy gifts for each other as we gave freely to one another every day. The act of his getting up to go to work to make an income to put food on the table is an offering of love. My preparing a meal or fixing a pair of pants that need hemmed is in the same category. Love is not something that we prove to one another in actions of store bought gifts but in everyday simple things.  I love how he opened the car door for me at church for years. I love how he accepts me even now when I have a traumatic brain injury and cannot do many of the things I used to. He loves the new me and he loved the old me. He accepts that I am one with him and gives daily. That is unconditional love.

Unconditional love is something that I have learned more about since the accident a couple of years ago.  My husband accepts my TBI and all but there are those who look at me and state that I don’t look like anything is wrong with me.  They might even think I am trying to trick the system to get money for no work.  Does a disability need to be visual?  Is there something wrong with me? Or am I a new me designed by God and one being challenged to rise to the new life I now coexist with. The Bible tells us that God is the potter and we are the clay. He molds us and shapes us into various things in our lifetime. At one point I was a student, then a mother and a teacher, now one who is home unable to drive yet giving back by blogging and making crafts to sell online.  There is nothing WRONG with me, it just that I am a new being in Christ. I am not disabled just re-enabled. I cannot write a book but I can blog.  I cannot drive but I can walk and go places with my family.  There is not anything wrong with me or about me. I am me. I am a new me with potentials just like always. Don’t look at me as someone you have to help or support. I don’t want your pity. I want your friendship and your unconditional love. I want you to treat me the same as you always did and know that I am getting used to this new me more and more each day.  I love you all unconditionally just as Christ loves me.  I pray that you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day and that you are blessed with many who love you unconditionally.  HUGZ

 

Author: tbi479/survivor

Recently diagnosed with a Traumatic Brain Injury following a roll over I had to leave my career as a Special Education teacher and move into the realm of the unemployed. Having now experienced the topic of a TBI from both sides I am moving into sharing my insights to help others. Teaching the students with a TBI gave me some awareness but not near what I have learned from walking a mile in their shoes. Being unable to teach I have thus committed myself to this blog and to helping how I am able. I hope you glean something from my posts. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

