Baby – My Green Cheek Conure

via Daily Prompt: Baby

Baby is a green cheek conure that I have had now for about six months. As one with a TBI it is difficult for me to bend over and stand up much (dizziness)so the decision to get a bird for a companion rather than a dog was one of health issues. I could not care for the dog to lift it and hook it onto the lead to go outside, thus I got a bird.
Getting a bird that I could hold and teach to talk was a decision based upon the fact that I missed having a student in the classroom and the fact that I could hold her when lonely at home. A green cheek seemed to be the best fit because of the size of the bird and the noise level. Loud noises from a larger bird would be too much for me. My little baby was only a few months old when I got her. It took her a few days to acclimatize to her new home but in a matter of no time she could say her name and play peek-a-boo. Now that she is nearly a year old she has bonded with my family and travels with me when I go out. Yesterday, for the first time in a long time she got to go for a ride in the car and was singing all of the way to the Olivesburg General Store about five miles from our home. People are amazed how she rides around on my shoulder and how she will set on their finger. She is an amazing little bird. I am so glad she is a part of my life. Perhaps one day you will meet her if you come to the Farmer’s Markets near Mansfield, Ohio. She would love to say Hello.

Author: tbi479/survivor

Retired special education teacher who is diagnosed with a TBI. My focus is to share insights that I have gotten from going through the process and hoping to help others going through the same thing.

Leave a Reply

