Seed: Weekly Photo Challenge

Have you ever wondered how one small seed can produce enough zucchini to feed your family? Or maybe, how one acorn can turn into a mighty oak tree? Well, having been blessed with the privilege of having land to dedicate to the wildlife we decided to do both. On our property we have planted so many seeds. Some have grown into trees that are now over our heads. Others have been planted into a small garden to be harvested and later canned for our dinner table. But of all of the seeds we have planted the milkweed seeds have brought me the most joy. These small seeds that I gotten from friends with adjacent fields have flourished and brought in the Monarch butterflies. From what I have heard, it is this plant that the Monarchs lay their eggs in. The beauty of this plant never fails me. To be able to watch it go through its life stages is quite a small miracle. But even more than that is the glory to see a Monarch flit about nearby in search of the milkweed. There are days that I walk and photograph the butterflies but I have found that the photos I have taken of the pods bursting out into seed are among my favorites. The light seems to capture the essence of a seed. It is life springing forth and then attempting to find that fertile soil in which to place itself. Drifting aloft these seeds often land on harsh soil or in a mown yard but overall they still flourish. Over time, these wee seeds have brought in birds and butterflies galore. I cherish the call of the bird and the gentleness of the butterfly. Some days I can almost touch one as they dance amongst the field.
Seeds are an amazing part of the life cycle. They bring us such joy and yet we never really take the time to relish in their wonder. Thank God for seeds. Without them we would not be able to live. In fact, without a small seed having been planted in the womb of your mother you would not be reading this now. God bless. HUGZ

Author: tbi479/survivor

Recently diagnosed with a Traumatic Brain Injury following a roll over I had to leave my career as a Special Education teacher and move into the realm of the unemployed. Having now experienced the topic of a TBI from both sides I am moving into sharing my insights to help others. Teaching the students with a TBI gave me some awareness but not near what I have learned from walking a mile in their shoes. Being unable to teach I have thus committed myself to this blog and to helping how I am able. I hope you glean something from my posts. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

