Swarming In

via Daily Prompt: Swarm

 

One of the biggest crowds I have ever been in was in Atlanta during the summer Olympics in 1996. We went there just after the bombing that had taken place days before. Friends of ours wondered why we would take our sons to such a place. Yet, I felt that we would be all right. God would protect us. While there the crowds were immense. The subways were the worst where people were packed in like sardines in a tin can train. Yet, even there we held onto our sons hands and were not afraid. There was only one time that we left an area and met at a predesignated spot. The reason for doing so was that there was a briefcase that had been left in the venue in which we were walking. We could see someone in uniform approaching it with caution. He was trying to figure out what it was. At that moment my husband and I looked at one another and rapidly took the boys out of that area. Looking back I could see the swarms of people going to see what was happening.  It amazed me that most people were swarming in to the site not away from it. I have always wondered why they would do so. I am thankful that the briefcase was not a threat nor a bomb. But, I will never forget the number of people who risked their safety and the safety of their loved ones in an effort to get a picture or be close to the action. Swarming in to that location was the last thing that I wanted to do.  I just wanted to keep my loved ones safe.

Author: tbi479/survivor

Retired special education teacher who is diagnosed with a TBI. My focus is to share insights that I have gotten from going through the process and hoping to help others going through the same thing.

Leave a Reply

