Dreams – real or imagined?

All of my life I have had vivid dreams. I have seen color in them and have flown to many locations in the world. Yet, lately (since the accident wherein I got the TBI) I have begun to notice that my dreams have become more detailed.  At times there are aromas in my dreams. I even can sense the temperature of the area I am in. For example, last night in my dream I was entering an area where there was a tunnel to another area that froze over right in front of where I was swimming.  rousing slightly from my dream I gazed up at the ceiling and saw crystals appearing in my room. They grew for a while and then began to dissolve from my sight as I dozed off to sleep. Returning to the watery dream state I had been in I swam more and more seeing all kinds of vintage items as if I was among the ruins of the Titanic. The last time I arose I came out of my room to see a very heavy fog enveloping our home. I told my husband that we were not going to be able to drive to church as the visibility was far too poor. We would not be able to see. He looked at me and told me it was fine out. I asked him about the fog and he restated that the fog was minor and not an issue at all. I looked again and still saw the pea soup thick fog in front of me.  Confused, I went on into the bathroom and began to prepare for the day.  As I walked I felt as if I was in a daze and waddled while holding onto the wall for a short distance.  By the time I was dressed I seemed to have come out of the state of mind I had been in. We drove on to church but my vision was still muddled and my gait was not yet steady a half an hour later.

Are dreams of those who have a TBI varied from those who do not? Or is it just a personal thing? Has anyone else noticed a variance in your dreams? I am curious about this topic. I am also hoping to begin to document my changes as to aid those who research such changes to those of us with a TBI.

Here again. I would love to know what you know. Please feel free to comment with any insights.

Author: tbi479/survivor

Recently diagnosed with a Traumatic Brain Injury following a roll over I had to leave my career as a Special Education teacher and move into the realm of the unemployed. Having now experienced the topic of a TBI from both sides I am moving into sharing my insights to help others. Teaching the students with a TBI gave me some awareness but not near what I have learned from walking a mile in their shoes. Being unable to teach I have thus committed myself to this blog and to helping how I am able. I hope you glean something from my posts. Love to all.

Leave a Reply

